Board of Governors

Bringing leadership experience and best practices to support innovation and discovery

The Board of Governors for Argonne National Laboratory was established by UChicago Argonne, LLC to provide guidance, oversight, direction, and advice to Laboratory management. 

The Board engages with respect to scientific and technical issues, long-range objectives, budget and facility plans, cooperative research and development, outreach, and technology transfer as well as personnel and staffing matters. They also play a consultative role in stakeholder engagement.

Member Listing
Carol Cala

Carol Cala

Retired Vice President, Corporate Energy, Environment, Safety and Health, Lockheed Martin Corp.
Jane L. Delgado President and CEO, National Alliance for Hispanic Health

Jane Delgado

President and CEO, National Alliance for Hispanic Health
Nancy Dorn

Nancy P. Dorn

Retired Vice President of Government Relations, General Electric
Melissa L. Gilliam

Melissa Gilliam

Executive Vice President & Provost, Ohio State University
Chevy Humphrey

Chevy Humphrey

President & CEO, Museum of Science & Industry, Chicago (MSI)
Marquardt Headshot

Wolfgang Marquardt

Retired Chairman of the Board of Directors, Forschungszentrum Jülich
Milan Mrksich

Milan Mrksich

Vice President for Research, Northwestern University
Angela Olinto

Angela Olinto

Dean, Division of Physical Sciences, University of Chicago
Juan de Pablo

Juan de Pablo

Executive Vice President for Science, Innovation, National Laboratories, and Global Initiatives;
Liew Family Professor in Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago;
Senior Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory
Jay Walsh

Joseph "Jay" Walsh

Vice President for Economic Development and Innovation, University of Illinois